top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFeryelle Ben Mosbah

20.40

Updated: Mar 11, 2021

20.40


Jour 8

On garde le sourire

Sans trop se brosser les dents

Peut-être

Entamerais-je ces cours

en ligne

Que j’entasse

en colonne

Ou ferais-je un énième tour

à la cuisine

J’étalerais ma frustration

sur une tartine

Que je croquerais

à pleines dents

Comme on nous disait

de croquer la vie

Avant


20.40


Day 8

We keep smiling

Without really brushing our teeth

Maybe

I will join this online class?

That I pile up

In columns and rows

Or will I walk yet another time around the kitchen

I will spread a layer of frustration on my toast

that I will bite into with full teeth

Just like they told us to live life (to the fullest)

Before


20.40


Chaque jour à mon réveil

Je cherche le soleil

Mais la terre tourne

Et le sommeil l’emporte


Jour, soir qu’importe

J’ai la tête qui tourne

De la veille

Et je perds mon sommeil


20.40


Every day when I wake up

I look for the sun

But the earth rotates

And sleep carries it away


Day, night, it does not matter

I feel my head spinning

From last night

and I lose my sleep



Photo: Ola Dapo (2019)

 

Poet Bio


Home?

Tunis, Tunisia.


What is home to you?

Home is a state of well-being, warmth and peace.


Feryelle Ben Mosbah is a student from Tunis, Tunisia. At the wake of the pandemic, she found herself quarantined at home, alone with her mom. Through her short poems, she tells the story of how she experienced quarantine as a twenty-something.


These poems are taken from a collection written during quarantine titled Journal d'une vingtaine en quarantaine. It can be found at instagram.com/journal20.40.

147 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page