top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMaya Sabatino

37°18’07.9”N 122°01’29.3”W

Updated: Mar 9, 2021

In P.M.

I

Summertime is rough

crickets chirping

my sweaty body and

Even as the sun sets

Sunsets do not bring rest

The same hushed house

Empty swimming pools

The lone ducks in parched creeks

All just a reminder

when I sleep

a.m. you.

Sleeping without

tucked sheets

wrestling with empty spaces

the heat persists night in day out

and the mantel clock ticks the degrees and days past

the nights suffocated by tropical heat

become orange streams of light

flooding from behind screened windows of memory

when you wake

it will be at the same time

39°00’22.2”N 117°43’08.1”E

In P.M.

I a.m. you.

Summertime is rough sleeping without

crickets chirping tucked sheets

my sweaty body and wrestling with the empty spaces

Even as the sun sets the heat persists night in day out

Sunsets do not bring rest and the mantel clock ticks the degrees and days past

The same hushed house the nights suffocated by tropical heat

Empty swimming pools become orange streams of light

The lone ducks in parched creeks flooding from behind screened windows of memory

All just a reminder when you wake

when I sleep it will be at the same time

37°18’07.9”N 122°01’29.3”W 39°00’22.2”N 117°43’08.1”E


Photo: Carlos Caamal (2018)

 

Poet Bio


Home?

San Jose, California. What is home to you?

Home is where I memorized the sidewalk cracks, the seasons smell familiar, my fish swim, my friends laugh, and my family loves me.


Maya Sabatino is an English Major and Creative Writing Minor at UC Berkeley. She’s been passionate about writing from a very young age and today she writes primarily prose but also loves writing poetry. When Maya is not reading or writing, she enjoys painting, drawing and playing board games. When she writes, she always has a cup of tea in hand and tries to pick the best thematic music for the scene.


147 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page