top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNina Purton

America Latina

Ah, America Latina,

Que eres como una mujer linda.

Pero estos hombres quieren más es tu cuerpo,

No tu alma, ni tus hijos que lloran hambrientos.

Ah, América Latina que eres mi única madre.

Perdona-me, pero mi papa es el imperio

Que prostituye las riquezas de tu cuerpo.

Soy la cría de la colonia y del esclavo,

La contradicción encarnada.

Perdoname mama, soy el producto de la impotencia

Del explorador que enfrentó

Aquello que lo explora.

América Latina, mitad de mi

Es la cría que agarra tus senos secos,

Llorando y implorandote por la leche

Que no tienes en tu pecho.

La otra mitad de mi es el niño

Con la panza rellena de codicia,

Que continúa a drenar y acumular

Las riquezas de tu tronco.

Perdoname, papa, mama,

Pero ya no puedo ser tu cría.

Tu política me pesa.

Entre vosotros dos,

No hay espacio para mí.

Perdona-me, pero no me interesa

Escoger un lado.

En mi pecho, ya no cabe

Ni el inferior ni el superior.

No soy blanco ni negro.

En tu historia, soy nada más

Que una anomalia.


Ah, Latin America,

You that are like a beautiful woman.

But what these men really want is your body,

Not your soul, nor your hungry, weeping children.

Ah Latin America, you are my only mother.


Forgive me, but my father is the empire

That prostitutes de riches of your body.

I am the offspring of the colony and the slave,

The encarnated contradiction.


Forgive me mother, I am the product of the impotence

Of the exploited who confronted

That which exploits them.


Latin America, half of me

Is the child that clings to your dry breasts

Crying and imploring for the milk

That you do not have in your bosom.

The other half of me is the child

With the belly full of greed,

That continues to drain and accumulate

The riches of your torso


Forgive me, mother, father,

But I can no longer be your child.

Your politics weights me down.

Between you two,

There is no space for me.


Forgive me, but I am not interested

In picking a side.

In my chest, there no longer fits

The inferior nor the superior.

I am not black, nor am I white.

In your history, I am nothing more

Than an anomaly.


Photo: Amanda Kerr (2016)

 

Poet Bio


Home?

The Earth What is home to you?

'Home' to me means much more than a geographical location or a national-cultural identity. Home is a process, it is something that is constantly growing and that we carry with us. It is a way of relating and creating meaning in the world.


Born into a Brazilian and English family, Nina Purton has trotted over the globe since the age of six, living and visiting many different countries. She is, essentially, nomadic by birth, and continues to be so. Travelling, engaging and learning from new cultures is constantly shaping and expanding her sense of identity. She strives to share and express this experience through art and writing, so that others may also enjoy the fruits of her vision.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page