top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLihong Chew

Is some(my) body home?



I was 15 when I stopped eating.

No, there was no major childhood trauma, no deaths, divorce, sexual abuse, nothing.

I used to wish there had been. Something to justify this perversity so that I could blame it all on PTSD

Then I felt guilty and ashamed for even thinking those thoughts

I tried making myself smaller, take up less space.

But the monster in my belly swelled

It growled for me to feed it.

But if I ate, my monster strengthened itself

On my disgust when I looked in the mirror

Every roll of fat hissed at me

“This is why no one loves you”

I started to feed it feelings and tears and secrets

So I didn’t have to feel the emptiness

You know when you’re running on empty

It’s easier to call it hunger

Easier to call it by any other name than loneliness

More concrete than my existence


I started to wander away, look for a new home.

I couldn’t inhabit this body anymore

One Spring, little hairs started sprouting all over my body

I pretended I was a baby bird with a new downy coat protecting me.

Outside, the new leaves grew with a radical joy that I had forgotten

Once the body burns all the fat, it starts to eat muscle

The heart is the strongest muscle in the body

But the heart had been starved

Slices of it given away for a chance at a new home

And once or twice I woke in the night,

Thinking my heart had stopped

And it might have

For it was untethered

Alienated from body and mind.

One night, I must have wandered too far away

Je me suis égarée

I looked for my body but I couldn’t see it

Then I blinked and it was there

Elle était là

It had always been there, right before my eyes.

But I couldn’t recognise it anymore.

Mais je le reconnaît plus

In sleep, she looks so peaceful

Far away from the wars that are being waged within

Is this body still mine?

Is anybody home?

Y a quelqu’un?

I can’t see you.

Fais moi un signe

I can’t hear you.

S’il te plaît

I can’t smell you.

I cannot feel you.

Tu me manques

Do you even exist?

Je sais même plus si t'existes.

Do I exist?

Je veux juste rentrer à la maison

The road home was not an easy one

Not when you’ve destroyed your old home

Cut up bits of your map

Finding pieces in odd places

But the edges don’t match

Birth is messy. There’s blood and amniotic fluid and pain and screams.

But birth is over in a second when you take in air and fill your lungs for the first time.

Rebirth is messier, and takes forever.

You think you’re swimming home, but you look around and realise you’re just treading water.

Holding your breath for the next wave washing over your head

With each wave you get better at keeping your eyes just above water

But my skin is all puckered up,

My legs and arms have turned to jelly

Perhaps I just can’t always be strong

Okay, I’ll show my hand

Shed my old skin like dead leaves

I negotiate with my monster

Add the eggshells I have tiptoed upon for far too long

We dance, our weight shifting perpetually

The earthworms join in the buffet

We laugh and cry together

Walls break down and I keep treading

This boundary between chaos and order, reason and emotion

The heap breathes, and heat grows at the core

Life and death and life in an endless loop

There is no certainty what will come out of it

Only that something interesting will.


Photo: Lihong Chew (2020)

 

Poet Bio


Home?

My body


What is home to you?

Home is feeling like I am exactly where I need to be, and there is no need to escape, but freedom to explore if I want to.


Lihong Chew is a curious human who loves thinking, writing, moving and creating. She is always exploring relationships with herself and the world. She hopes to be able to spread love and connect with others through the work she does.


This is adapted from the transcript for an original autodramatic piece exploring the theme of body as home, written and produced during Covid-19 lockdown.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page