top of page
Search
  • Thalia Witherford

The City

My god I miss the city

That vast emptiness of people

This edge life so gritty

This high-rise utopia

Despair and decay

Where everyone’s clawing

Just to get through the day


My god man I miss it

That cut on the breeze

The sharpness of air

In your lungs

Through your teeth


I’m saying I miss it

It seems to speak back

Not lonely assurance

But the certainty that

Somewhere else in this city

Someone else going wrong

Be it lost, drunk, or bleeding

Pain is always around

And it's fucked up to say it

But it reassures how

Somewhere else in this city

Someone's always knocked down

It's the grooves in serrated

Tween each high-rise and ridge

Someone else breaths abated

Someone's begging for bits


And it speaks to me backwards

Through its carcigen air

There's no welcome, no silence

But I know that it's there


It's a breath in the darkness

Right before you look back

It's that sudden hereafter

Life will have me

No caps


But the upside to this

Is there's life to be had

It's electric

It's visceral

Cos the knife’s in your hand


Where you’re gritting your teeth

And you’re riding it out

Where the whine in your head

You can ride or be dead

Where the blood in your stream

Flows uphill

Flows down south


Where the taste on the tip of your tongue is all copper

Where the thrill of the ride is that we survive we suffer


They're made of different stuff

To bear this mad Arena

All of these grey faces

The wailing when I sleep

I hear them and I taste them

On the tongue and in the teeth

My god I miss the city

I cannot tell you how

How much I miss the feeling

Of reflection in the dark


Between the sheets of rain

Cast by the lamplit streets

We are all the same

Our grief is in the heat

It’s steaming off the pavement

That gentle stench of rain

The bull that is careering

Down each downtrodden path

Turns its nostrils flaring

Eyes red lit in the dark

And now it’s heading for me

It's pace is in the sentence

The quickening

The darkness

A guarantee

Repentance

I’m screaming out to this time

I’m howling in my madness

My laughter stains my eyelids

With the smear of tears that I’ve shed

And I know that in the limelight

I will always fear what I’ve said

Here they are my undead

They’re storming out towards me

And then the car lights cut through

Laughing

I’m wide awake

The city too

You’ll never be alone in pain

In a city that was built for it


Photo: Pixabay (2016)

 

Poet Bio


Home?

'The City'.

What is home to you?

I always dream that home will be some far green corner, but when walking, it is always the buildings I look at, never the trees.


"Poetry has always been a communion with myself, somewhere to work through the things that troubled me. It materialised out of a difficult patch in school, but I've always been a storyteller, I still remember a story I wrote when I was little about skyscrapers, they were crying because they all must stand alone. Adding that kind of depth to the world around you needs some mode of realisation, alleviation – that’s poetry." - Thalia Witherford

63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page